The Abby Foundation
Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by

Women of the Year Nominations

The goal of the Abby Foundation is to recognize successful women whose presence and efforts have made a difference towards enhancing the role of women and benefitting children in the south and southwest suburbs. Women from the area are nominated for the award by having an individual or group submit a one page nomination letter. After board review the winner is selected and announced at that year's luncheon.



Past Women of the Year Recipients

One of the most anticipated parts of the annual Women Together luncheon started in 1988 when board members decided to honor south suburban women for their volunteerism in the community.

Notices in the SouthtownStar announce how to nominate someone for the award and give a deadline to do so. The final decision is made by majority vote from the entire board of directors of the Abby Foundation at a meeting.

Women have been honored for their outstanding volunteer work at churches, schools, local, state and national nonprofit organizations that help women and children, hospital, hospice and other health organizations, schools and other educational boards as well as local established clubs and organizations whose work and service in the South Suburbs benefit women and children.

The number of winners varies from year to year. Sometimes more than five are honored and other years, only one person is selected.

2009 Women of the Year

Winners of the Woman of the Year award include:

2013 - Diane Carroll
2012 - Vicki Sline
2011 - Dr. Valerie Scaramella-Nowinski
2010 - Lois Anthonisen
2009 - Nancy Mitchell
2008 - Patricia Ransford, Susan Marcek
2007 - Marie Kaminski
2006 - Joan Millender
2005 - Chris Slowik, Marcia McConnell
2004 - Jerdine McCaskill
2003 - Peggy Eisenstein
2002 - Linda Franklin
2001 - Elyse Bell
2000 - Dr. Sandra Burkhardt, Bess Friedheim, Elizabeth Wisnasky, Maureen Rinella, Delores Richmond
1999 - Sister Lois Bromark, Betty Fletcher, Mary Hartmann, Shirley Kline, Mary Ann Kubiak, Cheryl Widdowson,
          Marquita Wilson
1998 - Susie Goldberg, Dorothy Menker, Rose McGill, Karen Reid, Marylin Turner
1997 - Lyndell Beckham, Etel Billig, Pat Bouchard, Melissa Sage Fadim, Jo-Anne Ruskal-Wicklund, Carol Schneider,
          Colette Neuens
1996 - Marguriet Bobb, Joan Dobrez, Carolyn W. Thompson, Judy Byer Mostovoy, Sherry L. Tucker
1995 - M. Evanne "Tommy" Carvlin, Joan Coogan, Julia Ziev, Karla Osantowski, Grace Zaranti
1994 - Mary Jern, Judge Sheila Murphy, Barbara Moore, Sister Ida Green, Diane Kessler
1993 - Carol Dwyer, Louise King, Sister Norlee McDonnell, Bobbie Noona, Flora Alderman
1992 - Maurice Page, Marilyn Shaw, Theresa Varnet, Betsy Voss Lease, Pirkko Miller
1991 - Kathy Clements, Lorraine Cook, Janet Muchnik
1990 - Kate Herman, Therese Goodrich, January Belmont, Anne Oppenheimer, Beth Gierach
1989 - Ann Marcou, Trisha Goldberg, Marjorie Herter, Natalie Johnson, Gloria Morningstar
1988 - Lorna Anderson, Helen Hughes, Kendra Reinshagen, Doreen Crewe, Judge Loretta Douglas


2014 The Abby Foundation

Website designed and donated by J. Murray & Associates